General election 2019: Party leaders to face Question Time grilling

Media playback is unsupported on your device

Media captionQuestion Time Leaders Special: Behind the scenes with Fiona Bruce

The leaders of the Conservatives, Labour, Liberal Democrats and the SNP will be quizzed by audience members later on a BBC Question Time special.

The live programme, hosted by Fiona Bruce in Sheffield, will be broadcast on BBC One at 19:00 GMT.

Boris Johnson, Jeremy Corbyn, Jo Swinson and Nicola Sturgeon will have 30 minutes each to answer questions.

The first live TV debate between the prime minister and Labour leader took place on ITV earlier this week.

There have already been separate Question Time specials with Brexit Party leader Nigel Farage and Green Party co-leader Jonathan Bartley.

In the UK, the Question Time Leaders’ Special will be broadcast on BBC One, on iPlayer and BBC Sounds from 19:00 to 21:00 and streamed internationally on the BBC News website, where you can also follow the latest reaction and analysis on our live page.

Image caption

The Question Time set is being prepared ahead of the programme

The BBC will also host a live head-to-head debate between the Conservative and Labour leaders on 6 December, plus a seven-way podium debate between senior figures from the UK’s major political parties on 29 November, live from Cardiff.

Channel 4 News will also host a debate focusing solely on climate change. Labour, the Liberal Democrats, the SNP and the Green Party have all agreed to take part, but the Conservatives not yet said whether they will attend. A date has not yet been announced for this debate.

The Question Time Leaders’ Special comes after Labour and the Liberal Democrats released their election manifestos this week. The Conservatives are expected to launch their manifesto on Sunday, with the SNP set to announce its policy pledges next week.

Watch the BBC Question Time leaders’ special